News Staff, "Macdowell Colony Awards Fellowships to Eighty-Six Artists," Artforum, 22 January 2019.

ARTFORUM

MACDOWELL COLONY AWARDS FELLOWSHIPS TO EIGHTY-SIX ARTISTS

January 22, 2019

The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire, has awarded fellowships to eighty-six artists. Hailing from eighteen states and nine countries, including Texas, Maine, and Montana, as well as Chile, Australia, China, and Israel, the fellows were selected from a pool of 846 applicants. Forty-three of the artists are women and the majority have never been selected for a MacDowell fellowship before.

The cohort includes composers David Hertzberg and Žibuoklė Martinaitytė; film artists Tamar Baruch and Hannah Gross; performance artist Joseph Keckler; playwright Annie Baker, landscape architect Jane Hutton; visual artists Portia Munson, Accra Shepp, and Chadwick Rantanen; poets Victoria Chang and Ari Banias; and writers Kia Corthron, Sheila Heti, Tommy Orange, Kenneth Rosen, and Farah Stockman.

MacDowell estimates that the fellowships each have an average value of \$10,000. The organization provides the artists with private studio space for a period of up to eight weeks, accommodations, and three meals a day. Some artists may also be eligible for travel grants and stipends to cover expenses that accrue at home while they are at the residency. The MacDowell Colony awards more than three hundred fellowships each year. The next application deadline is April 15, 2019 for the autumn 2019 residency period.

"From cutting edge film to bold new directions in electronic music, and from topical theater to new approaches in multi-disciplinary design, this group of fellows represents a stunning array of creative approaches to make new work destined to delight art lovers far and wide," executive director Cheryl A. Young said in a statement. "The sheer diversity of talent, discipline, and cultural perspectives defined by these artists is part of the formula that makes a MacDowell Fellowship so unique and rewarding."

The most recent group of fellows includes, according to discipline:

Visual Artists Meghan Brady, Barnett Cohen, Paul Collins, Matthew Connors, Hope Gangloff, Clay Jordan, Bridget Mullen, Portia Munson, Chadwick Rantanen, Accra Shepp, Mary Temple, and Tenesh Webber.

